Tag: Literary Classics

Gold Medal Recipient!

So proud of BLACK LIGHTNING for winning GOLD at the Literary Classics International Book Awards! Here is what Literary Classics had to say:

Ten year old Samuel’s father disappeared years ago, and now his mother has passed away.  With no one to care for him and no place to call home his aunt vies to adopt him for all the wrong reasons. Samuel’s prayers are answered though when his mother’s will puts an end to that notion.  Now he’s living with his Grandfather.  Still grieving, and experiencing feelings of abandonment and insecurity, he dreams his father will someday return for him.  His Grandpa Tate’s interaction with the Apache natives leads him to learn of the legend of black lightning.  Samuel and his friend make a grand discovery and together they rebel against the rules and face possible death in the Last Land.  A talisman given to him by his father becomes a critical element for his survival.

Fantasy combines with tribal lore to offer an exciting spin on an entirely compelling story which will entice young readers.  Author K.S. Jones weaves an enchanting tale of lore and legend combined with a sci-fi element that will enthrall young audiences.  With well-developed characters and a magical component, Samuel’s journey is one that will not soon be forgotten by youngsters who enjoy reading fantasy or science fiction books.  Recommended for home and school libraries, Black Lighting has earned the Literary Classics Seal of Approval.

Black Lightning, Finalist!

LIterary Classics Book Awards. Top Honors Book Awards. Youth Book Awards. Book Award Finalist – Literary Classcis Announced its 2017 list of book award recipients.

BLACK LIGHTNING, a Sci-Fi/Fantasy set in the American Southwest for readers 7-11 years old, has been named a Finalist in the 2017 Literary Classics book awards! Literary Classics is a class act (my previous book SHADOW OF THE HAWK won in 2015) and any writer looking for a worthy competition would do well to consider this one. Take a look at their award-winning books–you’ll find each one deserving of its award.

Humbled and Honored

A debut novel emerges on shaky ground, no matter who the author. It’s just fact. It’s an unknown that can be exhilarating, but stressful. Like every other author on the planet, I was optimistic about mine when it debuted in 2015, but honestly had no idea how it would be received. As of this writing, Shadow of the Hawk, has soared beyond my wildest dreams, and I am so grateful.

shadowofthehawk-willa-sealLITERARY GOLD AWARDS: 

Literary Classics International Book Award (2015)

Chaucer Award (2016)

WILLA Literary Award (2016) 

RONE Award (2016)